St Machar’s Church, Bucksburn is situated just off the A96 on the outskirts of Aberdeen. It is a congregation within the Diocese of Aberdeen and Orkney, and in full communion with Anglican Churches from around the

Regular Services

Holy Eucharist is usually celebrated at 11:00 every Sunday , Christmas Day and at 19:30 on Ash Wednesday, Maundy Thursday and Ascension Day.  An informal service of readings and carols is held on Christmas Eve.  A service of Compline and Shorter Litany is held on Good Friday.

Eucharist on the first Sunday of every month incorporates modern translations of readings. On these Sundays all services are followed by a time of fellowship and refreshments in St Machar’s annexe.  Click on the ‘News’ button for further details of this and other events


Prayers answered

We are delighted that our Priest, Dr Heddle, is so much recovered and back with us on a regular basis..    

Remembrance Sunday 

The service on Sunday 11 November will begin at 10:50 in order to observe the two minute silence at 11:00

Choral Evensong on 26 August  (Photo courtesy of Mrs Jenny Coleman) 


The celebration of CHORAL EVENSONG  on Sunday 26 August with members of St Andrew’s Cathedral Choir was a beautiful service. Priest-in-Charge, Rev Dr Duncan Heddle officiated and welcomed the choir under their director Professor Andrew Morrison.  We were also pleased to welcome the Provost from St Andrew’s, Very Rev Dr Isaac Poobalan,  our neighbouring minister from Bucksburn Stoneywood Church, Rev Dr Nigel Parker and visitors from other local churches  in Bucksburn, Dyce, Middlefield, Powis and other areas.  There was an abundant supply of cakes to go with the tea/coffee afterwards and a good time of fellowship was enjoyed.

Visit to Maritime Museum, Aberdeen

The Museum trip was very interesting and we enjoyed the time of fellowship in the cafe.  Have a look at the page by clicking above.

Community Links

Bucksburn News This regular publication is delivered to St Machars and free copies are available in the Annexe.

The Stoneywood Scouts do a great job helping us to keep the grounds tidy after the autumn leaves, broken branches etc. With their input and our grass cutter the grounds look much improved. They have given us two big planters which stand outside the front doors giving a nice welcome. 

A defibrillator for Bucksburn  A keen-eyed member of the congregation noticed that the Community Council is collecting for a defibrillator to be situated outside the Milne’s butcher shop in Auchmill Road, Bucksburn.. We have a collecting box in our Annexe and hope to make a small contribution to this worthwhile cause.

St Machar’s also  has friendly ecumenical links with  other Church congregations in Bucksburn, Newhills and Dyce.  We hold some events together notably the annual World Day of Prayer on the first Friday of  March

Community Homes We maintain a friendly contact with several local Care Homes

People at St Machar’s:

Priest in Charge:Rev Dr Duncan Heddle
SecretaryMrs Erica Steele
TreasurerMrs Jenny Coleman
Lay RepresentativeMr Stewart Thain


Where we are: